Getting Familiar

The first week was somewhat surreal. I had to step in to this job cold with little real preparation as I had to continue at my previous school until the end of the first week of 2008. This meant that much of the enrolment process was set up by my predessor Jude (wonderful person that she is). So much of the first week was getting familiar with things, especially enrolments. It was all rather information overload, but also reinforced to me how innovative this all is.

I also found out I would be teaching Classical Studies to some students in Twizel and Mt Hutt. This prospect was extremely exciting. I am a Social Scientist by trade, with History and Classical Studies as my senior subjects. I have used online tools to add to my courses for quite some time, but I was looking forward to taking to the next level – which this was definitely going to require. At this stag the cluster doesn’t really have an online environment / learning management system so I decided I would use a blog to deliver the course to my students. It has worked really well and I like how the students are starting to contribute.

Leave a Reply

