OLE

One of my major tasks is to investigate, present and implement an online learning environment. The implemementation won’t come until next term, but the decision on what learning management system (LMS) we will go with is just around the corner.

This task was absolutely perfect for me as it was a continuation of what I had been doing last year in my previous position at Marlborough Girls’ College. In terms of options there are a few we could consider. Both Scholaris and FirstClass are too expensive for our schools. I quite like FirstClass, but I found Scholaris overstructured, although it gives you almost anything you would probably ever want in an LMS.

This narrows the list down to the following possible options

moodle

myclasses

Ultranet

Knowledgenet

I strongly favour Moodle out of these options. I like its functionality, flexibility and the fact it is developed by educators. With Moodle we can create whatever environment we want, but it does have its drawbacks. In the end any of these would do a job. It is how we use this environment that is most important.

Leave a Reply

